Lord, I Love Your Sense of Humor….

Since yesterday’s blog post, there’s been a new, laughter inducing development in our story. My friend, Naomi sent me a message to see if I had checked out the Haiti Orphanage’s blog. I hadn’t….

Literally yesterday, mere hours after my discussion with the agency rep, I read the following:

As of today (March 17), based on the information heard in meetings with the Association of Orphanage Directors and conversations with Haitian government officials, we’re moving the cap on the number of children a family can have in the home to 5 if they are a married couple.

To put it simply, we now meet all but one, tiny, little requirement to adopt from Haiti and that is that neither Brad nor I is 35 years old. I can remember very, very few times in my 33 years that I’ve wished I was just a little bit older. Right now is most definitely one of those times…

In light of this latest development, I began praying and looking through my Bible to see what it has to say about laughter. I cannot stop laughing! There are only a handful of verses that mention the actual word “laugh” or “laughter” in the NLT translation but this one really struck me:

Proverbs 31:25 “She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future.

I love that! Proverbs 31 describes the “Wife of Noble Character”. She is wise, trustworthy, energetic and strong. In her wisdom, she knows that it is foolish and maybe even arrogant to “fear” or worry about the future. It may be a little cliché, but can the Bible ever be over-quoted? (The answer is NO, by the way.)

Jeremiah 29:11-13 “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.”

He already knows the outcome of this journey for us and there is a great deal of comfort in that fact. I prayed for patience… Is it obvious?

2 thoughts on “Lord, I Love Your Sense of Humor….

  1. Pingback: Blogger’s Block | costainpartyofsix

  2. I LOVE this! Mom, Gen, Taylor and I are memorize Proverbs 31 and it’s been so encouraging and convicting! Praying for you all and love you!

Leave a Reply

