Our Hearts Say Haiti

Today brought with it a new wave of emotions, prayers, thoughts and advice. Oh, the advice…

Some of you who are friends from Facebook may remember a status update I wrote several weeks ago in which I asked for thoughts regarding a church friend who had some rather negative things to say about social networking. As this friend is someone who I have a great deal of admiration and respect for, her words really had an impact on me. I began examining my personal reasons for choosing to be on Facebook. Ultimately, I found that it’s not Facebook I love but rather the friendships I’ve cultivated through it, the encouragement I’ve been able to offer and to receive from friends and even the opportunities I’ve had to be a witness.

My point in mentioning this is to say that I feel very fortunate and very blessed to have been contacted by so many of my “Facebook friends” who I otherwise would likely not be in touch with at all. Just today, I received several emails offering prayers, advice, and contact information for friends of friends who are going through a similar adoption journey. So, yes – I’m a Facebook fan. There, I said it… Phew! That’s a load off…

Back to my point… Thank you, thank you, thank you all for being so supportive and kind and for all of your wonderful advice, endless words of encouragement and most of all, for your prayers. I feel like I’m on information overload – in a good way, of course.

Brad and I have done so much research and when we talked tonight, we both agreed that our hearts are in Haiti. This is not to say that we aren’t open to any child that God has for us, but we believe that we should continue to pursue Haiti for the time being. So, that’s the latest.

I wonder what tomorrow will bring… My friend Amber described this process perfectly when she said that it’s “emotional whiplash”…

2 thoughts on “Our Hearts Say Haiti

  1. Hey Shellie,
    Some good friends of our adopted from ET. She also wrote a blog that was enlightening to me about the adoption process. Go back to the beginning of the blog and work forward though. I think it will give you a clear picture of the emotional ups and downs of their adoption. Blessings to you and your increasing family.
    Korana
    http://www.at-the-watershed.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

