When the Tears Won’t Fall

I am not, by nature, a sensitive person. I rarely cry and when I do it’s usually only because I’m so angry that I can’t think of a better alternative. Lately though, I’ve prayed for the tears that just won’t seem to fall. It’s not because I’m sad or angry or for any reason other than the cleansing release that comes with a good cry. There is an ever present lump in my throat that must contain at least half a year’s worth of built up tears; it threatens to burst often but, almost as quickly as it comes, it goes away without incident. Frankly, it’s driving me crazy.

This morning, I had the pleasure of reading the testimony of one of my very dear friends. It was so moving and there was absolutely a well of tears in my eyes, but not one fell.

I have a feeling that this adventure we’ve begun will, at times, bring more tears than I can imagine. I’ve prayed for patience and for tears… Am I a glutton, or what?

3 thoughts on “When the Tears Won’t Fall

  1. We all handle our emotions differently and I can totally relate to the feeling of having a lump in your throat! Years ago, I held everything in, taking it to no one! You, on the other hand, take it all to the Lord and that’s all that matters 🙂 You’ve become a amazing women and a wonderful example of a godly wife and mother! Now, I can’t close the flood gates since becoming a believer! It’s quite embarrassing sometimes haha! Love you 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Night the Tears Wouldn’t Stop Falling « costainpartyofsix

Leave a Reply

