Baby Steps

I’m not sure how other married couples operate, but Brad and I have a pretty solid system when it comes to making major decisions. We discuss our options and then, separately, spend time contemplating, praying, weighing pros and cons, etc. When one of us (me) decides that enough time has passed, we (I) get all up in each other’s (Brad’s) business to find out if we’re on the same page. Awesome, yes?

Anyway, here’s how last night’s conversation went:

Me: So… What are you thinking? Wait for my 35th birthday and then apply for a child from Haiti or start the process for Ethiopia now?

Brad: (Super long pause….) Well (another super long pause…), I know this shouldn’t be all about the time frame but a lot of it is, right?

Me: (Casually) Uh huh. Absolutely. (Thinking – spit it out already!!)

Brad: (You guessed it – another pause…) I think we should call Bonnie tomorrow and submit our formal application for Ethiopia.

Me: Really?! I mean, uh – cool. Ya, I’ll give Bonnie a call in the morning…

The truth is that the door to Haiti is just not open to us right now. Maybe our 5th baby will be Haitian! Woah – one step at a time…

We had a phone interview with Bonnie about the Ethiopia program last Wednesday and, by the end of our talk I felt really excited about the possibility of adopting from Ethiopia. And, I could tell that Brad was excited too!

So, here we are on a completely different path than we had originally envisioned. We are not so ignorant as to believe that this is the last of the twist and turns our story will take. Rather, we are looking forward to looking back upon this journey someday and seeing how each surprise brought this dream of ours to fruition. It reminds me of one of my favorite verses.

Philippians 1:6 “And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished on the day when Christ Jesus returns.”

One thought on “Baby Steps

Leave a Reply

