Faith and Roller Coasters

It is a simple thing to write about how much faith we have. It is an entirely different thing to live out that faith here in the real world.

I made a promise to myself, and Brad agreed, that we would be completely truthful and transparent throughout this adoption. So, here goes nothing:

I’m feeling a little discouraged today. The Bible is pretty direct regarding discouragement. Remember this verse?

Joshua 1:9 “This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

Clearly, it’s one of those commands that is much easier said than done, because I am seriously struggling today. And, those darn tears I prayed for just won’t stop coming. I’ve gone from a fairly stoic and reasonable person to a bumbling, bawling bag of salty tears. Make-up has become my arch enemy.  I cry it off within minutes of application.

Logic tells me that I really need to get a grip. I’m aware of the fact that I’ve hopped on the proverbial emotional roller coaster and haven’t even been on long enough to tighten my safety harness. If I’m unable to find the courage at the beginning of the ride, how will I ever make it through the twists and turns, the rises to the skies and plummets back down to earth that are sure to come? I won’t.

So, instead, Brad and I and our sweet girls will continue to pray together each day that God will give us the encouragement and the comfort that He promised in Psalm 119:20 “Your promise revives me;  it comforts me in all my troubles.”

I feel better already… I’m tellin’ ya, friends – blogging is therapeutic. And, FREE!

2 thoughts on “Faith and Roller Coasters

  1. Those times of discouragement are unfortunately, par for the course on this adoption rollercoaster. It sounds like you are still plugged in to God’s word and that will help get through those times. Fortunately, the blessings at the end of this journey and even the lessons within it are so worth every tear.

Leave a Reply

