“Honest” Extreme Couponing

My sweet friend, Laura reminded me a couple days ago of another potential donation worthy talent I possess: Couponing.

By now, I’m sure you’ve either seen or heard about the uber-organized, shameless couponers on the TLC show Extreme Couponing. In an effort to not mince words, I’m not a fan. As a direct result of the show, our local grocery stores are tightening up their coupon policies (as if they weren’t strict before).

Last year, my blog at the time called Frugal Is The New Sexy won silver in the Gazette’s Best of 2010 local website category. Shortly after the big win, I realized that the time I was dedicating to the blog was interfering with the time I dedicated to my husband and kiddos and I folded up shop.

I may have shut down the blog but I am certain that I will never stop couponing. Most weeks, I feed my family of 5 and buy toilet paper, deodorant, toothpaste, paper plates, shampoo and paper towels for $55 – $65 per week – all because I spend just a few hours each week matching up sales with coupons and doing a little blog stalking to find the best deals. I want you to be able to do the same for your family!

So, I am going to offer a coupon class within the next few weeks to show all of you how to go about saving money on groceries, toiletries, paper goods and more (even toys!).

Let me be very clear that you will not walk out of any Colorado Springs grocery stores paying $.01 for $1,000 worth of groceries. Our stores don’t allow the kind of things that you see on Extreme Couponing. And, I do not advocate building a stockpile that will require insurance. (See the picture below of my “stockpile”, which I consider to be a reasonable size.)

You will, however very often leave a store with FREE items in your cart. I haven’t paid for toothpaste, deodorant or body wash for over a year. And, as long as coupons exist, I never will again… Care to find out how I do it?

I’ll be announcing soon the date, time and venue for the first class. I hope to see you there!

Here's my "non-food" stockpile. Notice the baby items on the top right shelf? Can you really start too early? Probably...

2 thoughts on ““Honest” Extreme Couponing

Leave a Reply

