God’s Math

I came home from a beautiful morning at the pool with my girls and my cousin, Justine and her girls to spend a little time looking over our budget. Sounds like fun, right?

Yeah – it’s not. It is interesting, though.

Brad and I were able to attend Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University last year and it was truly life changing. We aren’t the hard core, sell all your stuff on Craigslist kind of FPU graduates, but… Wait… Yes, yes we are. We must have walked through this entire house 17 times looking for any and everything we could sell to help fund the adoption. In fact, we’ve wondered which daughter would bring the highest offer, but that seems just slightly counterproductive, doesn’t it? I’m kidding, of course. Please don’t send me nasty grams and tell me what a terrible mother I am – it’s a joke. Promise…

Anyway, the principles we learned through our time in Dave’s class are truly invaluable. We are now completely free of credit card debt and drive two paid off vehicles. The days of flashy cars and financed clothes are a thing of the past for us. And, we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Since becoming a cash only family, we are very aware of where every penny is spent. My budget is Excel spread-sheeted, color coded and figured down to every last dime. It never ceases to amaze me when there are weeks that I know we shouldn’t have made it yet, somehow (wink, wink) not one bill goes unpaid.

God’s math and my math just don’t add up. And, I praise Him for that. He pours out His blessing on this family over and over and over again. And, still my foolish, human heart loses faith now and then. I still haven’t a clue as to how the money is going to come together to bring our son home, I just know that it will. Awesome…

It makes me think of Paul’s letter of thanks for God’s provisions through the financial help he received from the church in Philippi:

Philippians 4:11-13 “Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have.  I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.”

 

One thought on “God’s Math

  1. Good job on being debt free!!! it’s such a great feeling!! Aw, what different lives we lead huh?! Much better lives I must say 🙂 Love you and so encouraged by your strength!

Leave a Reply

