Ahhhh…. Summer.

My To-Do list for today is jam packed with urgent tasks, menial tasks, bills to pay, thank you cards to write, “stuff” to post on Craigslist, guinea pig cages to clean and phone calls to make.

After a long and sleepless night, a lot of reflection and soul searching, I’ve scrapped the To-Do list and instead, my girls and I are headed to the pool. I’m looking forward to spending a few hours with friends and enjoying some much needed down time with my daughters.

After all, this week is the calm before the storm. God has been faithful in providing several different work opportunities for me to help add funds to our adoption pot. Generous friends have mentioned my cleaning services, coupon class and more to their friends and my calendar is quickly filling to the brim. It really is so exciting… And, humbling.

To fill my calendar to bursting point, volleyball season is just around the corner. I’ve wondered at times if I was foolish for taking on the High School coaching job this upcoming season, seeing as adoption “stuff” has me so busy. But, I love volleyball and I absolutely adore the girls whose lives I get to be a part of every year. I believe that God lead me to make this commitment and I know that He has great things in store for this season.

Great things are happening with the adoption, though most of them are behind-the-scenes so to speak. I’m encouraged literally every single day by random phone calls, emails, cards in the mail and more from people who are walking this road with us.

We are so very fortunate and so blessed by our church family. Brad and I “church hopped” for nearly the entire first decade of our marriage, trying to find the “perfect” church. I’m not sure if you’re aware or not, but the perfect church doesn’t exist. After all our church hopping years, I find it so interesting that we ended up back where we’d first started. And, now we are home with people whose joys and heartaches we feel right along with them and they for us.

I am so thankful for all of you who are reading the blog, brainstorming fundraising ideas, praying, encouraging and loving us through this experience. I truly praise God for you every day.

Leave a Reply

