Why?

People seem to want to know why we want to adopt.

There’s no simple, compact answer that could possibly offer all the reasons behind our decision to adopt. Many adoptive parents say that they feel “called” by God to adopt; in fact, I’m pretty sure I’ve used that word in our situation as well. I just don’t know that it’s the most accurate way to explain our reasons.

First and foremost, I’ve wanted another baby for several years. Before I became ridiculously ill with Endometriosis, I begged Brad to think about having his vasectomy reversed so that we could try to have another biological child. He said, “no”.

And, then… He said, “yes”.

And, then… I said, “Never mind.”

I’m not even sure exactly what happened with that situation. I do know, though that it was part of the plan that eventually led us to want to adopt. I’d thought about it often since before my surgery in early 2010 and mentioned it to Brad on many occasions.

He said, “no”.

So, I asked him if he would be willing to at least pray about it before he said no again. And, he agreed.

Within a very short length of time he said, “yes” (finally!) and we began doing tons and tons and tons of research. And we prayed. And prayed. And prayed some more.

We prayed that, if it was His will, God would provide the means for us to bring another child into our home. Because, the fact is – we’re not exactly wealthy. We live a wonderfully blessed life and have more than we need and far more than we deserve, but we started this process with nearly nothing in the bank. The caseworker at the first agency we interviewed told us, more or less that it would be foolish to start without at least 10k in the bank. But, here’s the thing: money, or lack thereof, is no obstacle for the will of God. It’s all His anyway and we have no doubt that He is going to continue to reveal Himself in incredible ways throughout this process, just as He has thus far.

After all, as a fellow adoptive mother told me recently, “this is our mission field for right now”. This is just the tip of the iceberg in obeying the Great Commission.

So, I guess the question isn’t “why” we’re adopting, but rather “why not”? We have more than enough room in our hearts and in our home for TEN more kids!

But, I think we’ll start with just one for now… (=

Leave a Reply

