Happy Father’s Day

I made the mistake of staying up way too late last night doing some serious blog stalking. While I love reading all the great adoption stories out there from other families like ours, it was really hard to wake up, will myself out of bed and get to church on time. Or, almost on time.

Our church does a great job of honoring moms and dads on Mother’s and Father’s Day and I’m blessed to attend the same church as my folks. The congregation today was given the opportunity to share testimonies about our dads during the service and I knew that God was pressing upon my heart to share something about my dad.

We’ve grown close this past year and I’m so thankful for him and for his spiritual leadership as the patriarch of our family. I really love that guy. And, had I been able to get through saying that about him without blubbering and crying like an idiot, it would’ve been pretty great to share that with my church family. Oh well… Better luck next time. 😉

And, then there’s my Brad. What can I say? I could pretend that he’s not near perfect but, truth is – he’s just about as close as they come. And he likes me. A lot…. A whole lot more than I deserve to be liked. He’s my very best friend and the only person who knows all of my shortcomings, vulnerabilities and failures and loves my anyway. He loves his daughters in a way that I know will make them seek out men like him when it comes time for them to be married.

I can’t wait to see him with our son someday.

Psalm 127:3,5

“Children are a gift from the Lord;
      they are a reward from him.
 How joyful is the man whose quiver is full of them!”

One thought on “Happy Father’s Day

Leave a Reply

