Passports and Endurance

As I spent time going over and over the list of documents and things that Brad and I need to pull together for the home study and the adoption agency, it occurred to me that I’ve never needed a passport.

It kind of made me sad to think that I’ve never traveled outside of the United States – unless you count Mexico, I suppose. But, isn’t Mexico really just the new, Southern extension of the U.S. these days? (I hope this doesn’t start a war about illegal immigrants and border patrol.)

I imagined, when I was younger that I would’ve traveled overseas a few times over by this time in my life. Yet, here I am, nearly 34 years old and I’ve rarely left Colorado and have only been on an airplane a handful of times. And, truthfully, I really like it that way.

Brad’s family owns a beautiful get away home just outside of Woodland Park. Although our busy lives rarely allow us to get away from the city and head for the hills, we love the time we get to spend there together. But, it never takes long before I become restless and I’m ready to head home.

I love being home, not only because of the beautiful home that we’ve been blessed to so reasonably rent from wonderful friends of ours, but mostly because it’s just my happy place. It’s so exciting to know that it’ll be an even happier place someday when the six of us are able to sleep under the same roof.

I can’t wait… If only I didn’t have to. It’s all about endurance and “strength of character” at this point, isn’t it?

Romans 5:4,5 “And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.”

Leave a Reply

