He Comforts Us So That We Can Comfort Them

While things are going exceptionally well as far as our immediate family and the adoption is concerned, there are several families whom Brad and I love dearly who are experiencing some of the biggest battles they and their marriages will ever face. It’s heart-wrenching to watch what is happening and to feel so helpless.

The whole situation has really thrown us for a loop and, although it’s been several years since we were there ourselves, our own ordeal has suddenly begun to feel very fresh. I now have some idea how the people who loved us must have felt when we were in the midst of the storm.

As much as I wish there were, I know that there isn’t any one thing that I can say or do to alleviate the pain for my friends or to alter their thought processes and make them understand that their marriages can be repaired and better than ever before.

I’ve found myself wondering why God is allowing these things to happen. And, then Romans 8:28 flashes like a lightning bolt across my mind.  “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.”

My friends – the ones who are driving through this hurricane – they are His.

I’ve often wondered too, why God allowed us to travel a similar road and then, so richly comforted us the very minute we humbled ourselves before the throne of grace and called out to Him. It’s so obvious! 2 Corinthians says it all, “He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.” 

I don’t know why our marriage was spared while others weren’t but I do know that we have a responsibility to offer comfort to our friends as He comforted us…

Leave a Reply

