(My) Savior; He Can Move the Mountains…

In April and May of most years since my girls have been school aged, I’ve spent a lot of time and money planning our summers. In years past, they’ve attended various sports and performing arts camps, spent a ton of time at the skating rink and the swimming pool and gone to nearly every Vacation Bible School in the vicinity.

This year, however we bought a pool membership and planned on literally nothing else. I thought it would be great to spend the summer lounging by the pool, relaxing and spending time together. I’ve wondered if it might possibly be our last summer before Ty comes home and our lives are changed forever…

Needless to say, our summer has gone anything but according to plan. I can’t recall a time in my life that I’ve been busier. It’s good for me, really. I thrive on setting lofty goals and pushing myself to reach them. And, as any mother will tell you, goals that have anything to do with our children are especially worth the hard work and dedication.

Our hard work is paying off and God continues to be very much present in this process every day.

Yesterday’s massive garage sale (thanks to our generous family, friends and strangers new friends!), was an incredible success and we were able to raise just over $970.00. Unbelievable. We’ve had many garage sales in the past and were always thrilled to walk away with a couple hundred bucks.

The money we raised yesterday will get us nearly half way to the $2,300.00 we need to submit our dossier and have it translated into French to be sent to Congo. Once our dossier is approved, we’ll wait for our referral. In the meantime, I’ll continue to look for freelance writing jobs, offer cleaning & organizing services, teach coupon classes, sell cookbooks,  and save, save, save for the $9,500.00 that will be due with our referral acceptance.

I would be lying through my teeth if I told you that those numbers aren’t fear inducing. On the one hand, I ask myself a million times a day how in the world we’re going to come up with that amount of money. On the other, I try to remind myself that God is faithful and He will provide. How? I have no idea. But, like I’ve said over and over, it’s going to be exciting to find out.

Philippians 4:19 “And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus.”

 

Leave a Reply

