Great Intentions

I had a long talk with the girls last night about working hard to get the house in order today for the impending start of the home study tomorrow. We woke up around 8:30 this morning ready to get to work.

Instead, we threw on our swim suits and headed to the pool and it.was.great.

I don’t know why exactly, but I’m feeling pretty calm about everything at the moment. Could it be the peace Brad and I have been praying for? Yes. Yes, it could. In fact, I believe that it is.

So often, I pray for things and then act surprised when God answers. Dumb, but true. I’ve prayed lately for the girls and for this upcoming school year that is approaching at warp speed. Ginna is entering her first year of Middle School in August and, frankly, I’m terrified nervous for her. She’s nervous too and we continue to assure her that it’s going to be great, but I’m walking the fine line of trying to encourage her without flat out lying. After all, we all remember Jr. High – it’s awkward and uncomfortable and just an altogether weird time in life. Thankfully, Ginna has really blossomed and matured in a lot of ways this summer and I do know that she’s going to do great. But, I’m a mom and moms worry. It’s a required skill in our line of work, right ladies?

Ultimately, I know that God is in control. I know that Gin is His. He claimed her for His own when she was just a 3rd grader and I see her maturing spiritually more and more every day. I’m so grateful that our girls are able to attend a great, Christian school that we consider to be an extension of the education they receive at home from Brad and I and also from the great teachers at our church.

Each year, we pray and wonder and pray some more that, if God wants for our children to continue attending the school, He’ll provide the funds necessary for them to do so. And, each year since Ginna was 3 years old, He has.

On one of the home videos we watched as a family last week was Ginna’s very first day of preschool. I was pregnant with Sydney at the time. Very little about what we saw on the screen has changed around the school, except that the little girl whose backpack was bigger than her entire body at 3 years old is now preparing herself for Middle School, her 2 year old little sister will be a 5th grader this fall and the baby girl I was carrying in my womb is getting ready to become a 2nd grader.

Time really does pass in the blink of an eye. I wonder if the time we will spend waiting for Ty’s arrival will seem that way 10 years from now as we look back retrospectively.

I’m reminded of a couple verses from Psalm 39:

(4)“Lord, remind me how brief my time on earth will be.
      Remind me that my days are numbered—
      how fleeting my life is.
(5)You have made my life no longer than the width of my hand.
      My entire lifetime is just a moment to you;
      at best, each of us is but a breath.”

I’m going to do my very best to enjoy this time that we’re given to anticipate Ty’s homecoming. Truth is, these months are ones that we’ll never get back…

 

 

Leave a Reply

