Sweet Ginna Rose

School started this morning. I’ve been looking forward to this day for a couple weeks now, mostly because the kids were starting to go a little stir crazy being home every day and also because we were beginning to get on each other’s nerves. But, now I’m feeling a little lonely without my girls to keep me company.

I’m having a really hard time trying to wrap my head around the fact that I’m the mom of a middle schooler. When I curled her hair this morning and brushed a little mascara on her eyelashes, I began to think of this time of year 8 years ago. I remember combing her toddler-thin hair into a little pony tail and tightening the velcro straps on her white sandals. When I helped her fill her Dora backpack with school supplies and put it on her back, I thought she’d topple over backwards from the weight. Her sticky, little hands squeezed my face when I leaned down to kiss her goodbye and I hustled out to the parking lot with Brad before the tears started.

Today, I walked her down the hall to her locker and helped her put her things away. When I hugged her and started to leave, she grabbed my arm and asked if I’d walk her into her classroom.

I love that girl… She is, by far, my favorite oldest daughter.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Ginna Rose

  1. *sniff*sniff* WWWAAAAHHHH!!!! Why does it go so fast?? I did up toddler ponytail and velcro sandals this morning. I can NOT imagine middle school. I need to go suck my thumb now. Your girls are gorgeous!!! Loved the FB pics.

Leave a Reply

