Happy 10th Birthday, sweet Avery Isabella…

When our oldest daughter, Ginna was about 5 months old, Brad and I decided that we were ready to start “trying” for baby number two. Since it had taken us 9 months to get pregnant the first time, we (wrongly) assumed that it would take just as long the second. Roughly 3 weeks after our initial baby # 2 conversation, I was pregnant. As most of you know, if you read “The Story of Ginna Rose” back in May, I had already been blessed with the daughter I had so desperately longed for. When I became pregnant with Avery, I prayed and prayed that Ginna would be blessed with a sister. When we found out that we were having another girl, we were ecstatic. After my labor and delivery experience with Ginna, I was terrified that my water would break in public and that my baby would be born in aisle 12 at Wal Mart or somewhere equally as horrible. I’m so thankful for my OB, who didn’t want that to happen nearly as much as I didn’t want it to happen. On August 18, 2001 I was 38 weeks pregnant. I was admitted to the hospital, the epidural was administered and THEN the doc broke my water. Less than two hours later, Avery Isabella was in our arms. We quickly learned that no two babies are alike. Ginna was an “easy” baby, who liked to eat every 3 hours and who slept through the night at 5 weeks old. Avery, on the other hand, was a “hard” baby who insisted on nursing at least 20 out of every 24 hours and refused to sleep (unless she was nursing). The first year of Avery’s life was exhausting… An amazing turn of events has taken place in the last 10 years. Avery is beautiful and kind and funny and a friend to everyone. She simply makes this world a better place to be and I cannot imagine life without her. I thank God for the sister she is to Ginna and Sydney and for the servant heart that He has gifted to her. I’ll never understand why He chose ME to be her mom, but I’m so glad He did.

One thought on “Happy 10th Birthday, sweet Avery Isabella…

Leave a Reply

