Busy, busy, happily busy…

I’m sad to say that there’s absolutely nothing to update you on regarding the adoption. We’re still waiting for the completed, official home study report to be sent down from Denver so that we can submit our i600a. Until then, we’re staying super busy with school, volleyball and church.

Volleyball has already been especially awesome for me; I have the most incredible group of girls to work with this season. They’re not only talented, they’re the sweetest and funnest group. Two of the girls, who I’ve coached since they were in Middle School, are turning 16 this year and will be having a HUGE Sweet 16 party in November. They called me a couple weeks ago to tell me that, instead of gifts for themselves, they’ll be asking their guests to make a monetary donation to our adoption fund. Although I managed to keep it together until after I hung up the phone, I was absolutely stunned and overwhelmed by their generosity and selflessness. They’re just awesome…

And, in other fundraising news, I’ve taken on yet another labor intensive project to try to avoid begging for donations. 😉 I’ve always, always been interested in refinishing old furniture, but I found it all a little intimidating. So, I started doing some research (by “some”, I mean “tons of”) and decided that it wouldn’t be so hard after all. I found this great, little roll top desk on Craigslist and starting stripping paint and sanding down my new project.

As you can see in the picture, it needed some serious work. But, I fell in love with it in it’s sad, neglected state and I knew it was going to be even more lovable with some creamy, white paint and a little massage with some high grit sand paper.

This picture doesn’t do it justice, but it turned out just like I hoped. Although you wouldn’t know it by looking around my house, I love the “Shabby Chic” / French country style that’s so trendy right now. Hopefully, I’ll find some buyers out there that love it as much as I do.

If you know anyone who might love to give this little beauty a good home, send ’em my way and I’ll happily deliver it in exchange for a donation to the adoption fund! In the meantime, I’ll work on getting a better picture.

Leave a Reply

