You Guessed It – More Nothing

I’m so thankful to have such a full schedule to distract me from the fact that I can’t make anything happen with the adoption right now. However, with a busy schedule and the stresses that come along with it, also comes an increasingly weak immune system.

I’m sicker now than I’ve been in a really long time. I don’t necessarily feel all that stressed out but, after nearly 34 years in this body, I’ve discovered that the stress in my life manifests itself physically. No fun… Unfortunately, illness strikes at the most inopportune times. This week just happens to be the one that I have three volleyball games, Syd has two soccer practices and Gin and Avery have volleyball practice.

I’m fortunate to have my parents help me out by getting the girls to and from school and practices when I can’t and friends who have so generously offered to help out as well. I’m a very blessed gal…

In addition to all that craziness, I’ve somehow managed to find time here and there to complete a couple more furniture refinishing projects. I wish I were a better photographer; the photos I’m about to share with you just don’t do these pieces justice. I’m really happy with the way they’ve turned out so far.

Here’s an antique dresser that I picked up from Craigslist. The seller had tried to refinish it, but he truly did an awful job. There were stain drips all over and he’d glued the drawers with Gorilla Glue (NOT a good idea. Trust me.).

 

So, I sanded and sanded and sanded until I got down to the bare wood. Then I primered and painted and distressed and glazed to get the look I was going for and this is what I ended up with:

I wish the picture wasn’t so crummy. It turned out just as I’d envisioned with just the right amount of distressing and a glaze that makes it looked aged and well loved.

I picked up a pair of old end tables from Craigslist as well and learned a lot about stenciling and glazing with this project. Here’s the before:

I spent a lot of time sanding before I bothered to read the primer can that says clearly  that it will “adhere to any surface”. Oops. Live and learn, right? So, I primered and painted the first table white and then decided that it needed a little something more to make it complete. I have a slight obsession with birds these days, so I decided to add a bird stencil to the top.

Here’s how it turned out:

Wow. The picture’s even worse than I originally thought. Here’s a little bit better shot of the top:

Or not… You get the gist, right? It really looks great in person and I’m anxious to get started on the matching table.

In the next few weeks I’ll be working on a few other projects and, yes most of them will be white as well. Stick with what you like, right? In the meantime, I’ll continue working on some business plans with my “partner” so we can figure out when and where we’ll be selling all these fun, custom refinished pieces. 😉

2 thoughts on “You Guessed It – More Nothing

  1. Well, so far I want to buy all the pieces you’ve redone!!!! Oh goodness, what is still available? I’ll have to see if we even can, but I LOVE the looks!

Leave a Reply

