How I “Do It All”…

There’s an article being shared on Facebook lately that seems to have had a significant impact on me and my fellow friends who are moms. If you haven’t read it yet, it’s worth a few minutes of your time. Click HERE to read.

The gist of the article is that we, as moms, want to have the ability to “do it all”. We spend hours on Pinterest, pinning brilliant organizing ideas, menu plans, activities for our children and more (mostly unachievable) plans for ourselves. All the while, we secretly loathe these women who seem to be doing it all and doing it amazingly well.

It came to my attention not too long ago that many people perceive me as one of those women. Seriously?! Me?? I had to laugh…a lot…and, for a really long time. Here’s the pretty truth:

I am a wife, a mom, a daughter, a friend, a business owner, an artist (furniture is art, after all!) and someone who desperately wants to do every single one of the 2,097 ideas I’ve pinned on my “Must Try” board. I love when my house is spotless and I love serving my family a homemade dinner right out of the oven. I love to make and paint things that make people swoon and I really love it when they’re willing to pay money to take those things to display in their homes. I am completely and totally in love with Jesus Christ and my greatest desire is that my daughters and my sons love Him too.

And, here’s the ugly truth:

My husband spoils me. He is so kind and patient and he puts up with a whole lot from this wife of his. My daughters are really great kids. They do their own laundry, often make their own meals and are generally very self sufficient people. I’m certainly not the greatest daughter and my parents put up with me anyway. They seem to really like me… I don’t check in on or see my sweet friends nearly as often as I should. I love my store, but there are many days that I wish lots of other people loved it as much as I do. Many, many times I’ve spent countless hours with a paint brush, a hot glue gun and a project only to toss it in the trash when I realize it is nothing short of disastrous. My house looks like it should be featured in an upcoming episode of Hoarders. The only thing missing is the cat carcasses. I can’t really remember the last meal that I pulled out of my oven and from the little I do actually remember, it wasn’t very good. I often don’t act like a woman who is in love with her Savior. I still struggle daily with my potty mouth. I don’t spend enough time with God, thanking Him for who He is and for what He’s done for me.

The truth is that it’s easy to hide behind a blog post and to tell everyone about the good things in my life. But, don’t be fooled my friends! I’m just shy of being a walking disaster. But, I love my life, I adore my husband and our daughters, I cannot wait to hold our sons in my arms for the first time and I’m grateful for every undeserved blessing in my world.

Leave a Reply

