Tonight

Tonight, I’m on the verge of tears.

Tonight, I don’t feel like I can wait any longer.

Tonight, I walked through a lonely room that is longing to be filled with three beautiful, brown-skinned boys and allowed myself to wonder if they’ll ever really come home.

Tonight might just be the hardest night I’ve had since the day this journey began. 

Tonight stinks. But, tomorrow is going to be better because “It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because…they are new every morning” (Lamentations 3:22,23). 

2 thoughts on “Tonight

  1. I know it’s not the same, but I understand the longing, the waiting for some one you love to come home. There are nights that it feel unbearable. For me, the nights are the hardest. I pray that you get good sleep tonight and that God’s mercies and faithfulness will be new and fresh for you tomorrow. Someday this longing will be a memory, but it will be part of what God has used to knit your heart to those of your precious ones. Someday you’ll be annoyed by the toys they forgot to pick up and the never ending loads of laundry and you will be able to look back on this day and remember how your heart longed for them. You will appreciate them even more because their journey home wasn’t quick and easy. God has begun a good work in your family and He is faithful to complete it.

Leave a Reply

