Perspective

I wish I had an exciting update to share with you all today… I don’t. We’re currently waiting to receive Brad’s state certified birth certificate from the great state of Texas. Once we receive it, our completed dossier will be sent for translation and submitted to DRC for court.  It is our prayer that we’ll pass court quickly. Then, our sweet Jecoah will be moved into the beautiful transition home where he’ll live for about 6-8 weeks until we’re allowed to travel to meet him and bring him home.

A few short weeks ago, I mentioned in a blog post that I’d really been struggling with the wait. While I still find it difficult every day with the not knowing when our boy will by wrapped in my arms, the Lord has given me a great deal of peace and, with that, I wake up each morning with the knowledge that He’s given me the perfect amount of grace to make it through every day.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 Corinthians 12:9

Beyond that, it seems a little silly to throw a pity party over the fact that I can’t have what I want at the exact moment I want it; as if the Bible isn’t crystal clear about the payoff for patience!

But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Isaiah 40:31

For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised.

Hebrews 10:36

And, finally, if waiting for my beautiful, healthy, happy son to come home is as bad as things get around here, I think we’ll get through it.

One of my very favorite friends found out just last week that she has breast cancer. (You can follow her journey HERE.) She is young and beautiful, she’s adored by her sweet husband, three daughters, her son and an amazing network of family and friends and, most importantly, she loves Jesus Christ with every fiber of her being. Her approach to this battle has been so graceful and lovely and I’m so grateful for the perspective she’s given me.

She is clothed with strength and dignity,
and she laughs without fear of the future.
 When she speaks, her words are wise,
and she gives instructions with kindness.
 She carefully watches everything in her household
and suffers nothing from laziness.

 Her children stand and bless her.
Her husband praises her:
 “There are many virtuous and capable women in the world,
but you surpass them all!”

 Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last;
but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.
 Reward her for all she has done.
Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.

Proverbs 31:25-31

And, so I will wait. And I will rest in the knowledge that He is good, that He loves us, that He loves our son far more than we ever will.

One thought on “Perspective

Leave a Reply

