Praise God for the Rain

It’s been so long since I’ve mustered up the courage to write. I’ve been toying with the idea for the last few days, but couldn’t settle on where to begin.

As I thought about how best to update everyone, I started looking back on the posts over the last 2 plus years and came across this post that I wrote almost exactly two years ago as our journey had just begun.

Apropos on a day such as this, when our Lord has so mercifully sent rain to our beloved Black Forest:

 

 

I used to hate the rain.

In nearly every cartoon I can recall from my childhood, there is a character with his own, personal raincloud that represents his particularly bad day or depressed mood. Occasionally, the cloud would burst and rain down on him and, once in a while, he’d even be struck by lightning. Naturally, I found it hard to muster up any kind of positive affection for gloomy, rainy days like this one.

That all changed when I fell in love with Brad. He loves the rain. He loves to sit on the deck and watch the thunderstorms roll in. He doesn’t have the fear of lightning that I do and the sound of thunder doesn’t make him want to crawl in bed and pull the covers over his head. If he didn’t have a wife and family who forbid it, he’d be a storm chasing meteorologist.

Because of his zeal for all things weather, I’ve grown to love the rain and appreciate a particularly exciting weather day. In fact, our youngest daughter’s middle name is Rayne, which we chose because of our (now) mutual affection for it.

There’s a song on one of my very favorite albums, My Utmost for His Highest, that Steven Curtis Chapman sings. It’s a beautiful song and the lyrics seem apropos on a day like this one.

These are the places I was so sure I’d find Him I’ve looked in the pages And I’ve looked down on my knees I’ve lifted my eyes in expectation To see the sun still refusing to shine, but…

Sometimes He comes in the clouds Sometimes His face cannot be found Sometimes the sky is dark and grey But some things can only be known And sometimes He comes in the clouds

Sometimes I see me, a sailor out on the ocean So brave and so sure as long as the skies are clear But when the clouds start to gather I watch my faith turn to fear, but…

Sometimes He comes in the rain And we question the pain And wonder why God can seem so far away But time will show us He was right there with us…

It reminds me that God is in everything. He is present for the times that bring us joy and the times when we seem to have our own personal raincloud following us around, sending down strikes of lightning.

God has a purpose for the rainclouds in our life, just as He does for the actual rain.

Genesis 27:28 “From the dew of heaven       and the richness of the earth,    may God always give you abundant harvests of grain       and bountiful new wine.”

One thought on “Praise God for the Rain

  1. Very well said, Shellie, but why did you need to muster up the courage to put fingers to keyboard? Let us read more of your musings.

    RY

Leave a Reply

