A Big Thank You and an Adoption Update

I wanted to take a moment to say thank you to everyone who read my (very) open letter to Kara earlier this week and, in turn, has committed to praying for her, for her family, for those of us who love her.

My Facebook inbox is full of the kindest messages of encouragement and love; you can’t possibly know the impact that your words have had.

If you’ve not taken the time to read Kara’s blog, I pray that you would. She is an incredible writer with a unique perspective and I just know that you’ll be blessed to know her story. Click HERE, grab some tissue and get ready to see suffering in a new way.

For those of you who have emailed me and asked how you can best minister to the Tippetts family, here is a link to the TAKE THEM A MEAL page. (Last name: Tippetts Password: 6618) While the meal calendar is currently full (Praise God!), there is an immediate need for donations to the housekeeping fund and also the take-out meal fund via Pay Pal. This is a great way for any of you non-local folks to help and I know that Jason and Kara will be so appreciative of your gift.

Again, thank you for loving and praying for my precious friend.

An Adoption Update

With the news we received on Monday of Kara’s cancer having spread, I’ve had very little time or energy to give to what’s happening with the adoption. While I’m thankful for the distraction, I wish it had come in any other form.

For those of you who have asked (and, thank you for asking), here’s the latest:

After receiving some potentially devastating news that the DGM in DR Congo would not be issuing exit letters for up to a 12 month period, we were pretty upset; not surprised, just saddened. We’d come so far, been through even more than the average adopting family. It seemed incomprehensible that it would end this way.

Our agency was great about responding quickly to our questions and, after a great deal of research, we learned that our case is very likely still on track. We’re hopeful that we will bring Jecoah home….eventually.

On October 30th, he will be taken to the US Embassy in Kinshasa for his visa interview. Our prayer is that his visa will then be issued within several days and we will begin making travel arrangements. It appears that we may possibly be in Kinshasa for more than the three weeks that we’d originally planned on, due to the issues with the exit letters.

My concerns lie more with the fact that Brad and I will be away from the girls for that length of time than anything. It hurts my heart to think of it. Certainly, our other concern is the financial impact that a longer stay will have, as we’re already so far behind on fundraising.

I’m so weary of asking for donations. Is it wrong to pray for money to fall from the sky? Don’t answer that… I already know.

Oh, and here’s the latest picture of our favorite, cutest,  2 1/2 year old, Congolese son for your viewing pleasure. Ahhhh…. I’m smitten.

Cocobear

2 thoughts on “A Big Thank You and an Adoption Update

  1. Praying for your adoption. My husband and I are also from Colorado (Parker) and also adopted from DRC. We travelled in July to pick up our son. I am devastated hearing of the news of the DRC suspending exit letters. It is great to hear about another family adopting from DRC, there are actually a handful of families in Colorado adopting from there. If there is anything I can help with let me know!
    Ashley

Leave a Reply

