A Christmas Miracle

Brad and I are trying to be very intentional about enjoying our final week in DRC, especially with the looming possibility that it will be our last with Jecoah for some time.

We are feeling peaceful for the most part, but I’d be lying if I said there haven’t been moments of overwhelming anxiety. It is difficult to simultaneously prepare your heart to be separated from your child (again…still) while maintaining hope for a Christmas miracle.

There are so many things I miss about home; so many things that I’ve taken for granted. There’s nothing like a third-world country to lend some perspective on our first-world problems.

I can’t wait to eat normally again. I’m sure I’ve lost some weight since we’ve been here and I’m looking forward to gaining back every last ounce by way of Chipotle and Noodles. It’s not exactly safe to eat raw fruits and vegetables here so, of course, Brad and I are craving salad like you wouldn’t believe.

I didn’t bring nearly enough clothes with me to Africa. We’ve done all of our laundry by hand and all of my shirts and skirts are so threadbare that they’re borderline inappropriate. I sort of want to leave them all here and never see them again.

It’s been a very long time since I’ve gone so long without dying my hair. It’s bad. Still, Brad needs a haircut way worse than I need a dye job. We joke that he looks like the Unabomber; it’s not as funny as it was five weeks ago…

I miss my Bible. Several weeks before we left I misplaced it somewhere. Panera? Church? The bottomless pit that is my minivan? Who knows… I loaded a Bible app on my iPad but it’s just not the same. I want to hold it, feel the pages, highlight and scribble notes in the margins.

I miss Target. Wait….I mentioned that already? That’s ok. I want to tell you again. I don’t even go to Target very often. But, for some reason, I’ve decided it’s where I’d most like to spend some alone time upon my return to civilization. I can already taste the toffee nut latte from Starbucks that I’ll be sipping as I browse the vast inventory of cosmetics for fair skin (impossible to find here). I’m so going to own the gluten free aisle. Does Target even have a gf aisle? Doesn’t matter. I love you, fancy Wal Mart.

I can’t wait to go to church, to drive my car, to use my washing machine and dryer, to sleep in my own bed on my own pillow.

Most of all I can’t wait to see my beautiful girls. I’m happy to be coming home while the kids are on Christmas break so that we can spend as much time together as possible. It will be super cool if Jecoah is there too, getting to know his sisters without the disruption of our normal, busy schedule.

Will you join me in continuing to pray for a miracle?

Leave a Reply

