Family

A Guest Post By Justine Atkins

This is my first blog post ever. And I can’t think of a better way to enter the ‘blogging world’ than to talk to you all about a little boy I’ve never met but who I love so much, and his parents and sisters who desperately want him in their arms, in their home.

Shellie is my cousin. More than that, she is one of the closest people to me. A bonus sister, if you will. I’m going to brag on her a bit 🙂 She is one of the funniest people I know, stupid beautiful, and she loves, loves, loves Jesus. The work God has done in my dear cousin’s heart is beautiful. She truly is the iron that sharpens iron in my life. She really has been the hands and feet of Christ and I am blessed she is in my life.

My heart is breaking though watching helplessly as she, Brad, and their three precious daughters ache for the day Jecoah is home. I so badly want to take the pain away. Then my aching heart is prompted to pray. Especially as I sit on my couch with my three precious daughters and while I snuggle my son in my arms, just like Brad and Shellie would love to be doing. Then I imagine what I’d be doing if my son were being held hostage from me by another country’s government. Only by the grace of God are Brad and Shellie functioning right now.

This road that God has called them to walk has been hard. Very hard. I have watched as God has given them the grace to walk it with such self-sacrifice, love, faithfulness and patience. I see God gently use friends to speak truth to Shellie’s heart on her darkest of days….days she can hardly get out of bed. I know it’s been the hardest thing they’ve ever done, but anything is worth going through for your children, right?

I’ve never seen anyone work so hard for something. The moment God prompted Brad and Shellie’s heart to adopt they started working as hard as they could to raise the money; saving, willing to sell anything they own, and starting a business refinishing furniture and knick knacks and selling them. Shellie cleaned homes and painted kitchen cabinets to raise money. We have done online auctions and sold freezer meals. She was willing to work anyway she could to raise this money. Many have given so generously….I can’t tell the number of times she was moved to tears by the generosity of friends and family.

Adoption is SO expensive, especially when the country you are adopting from is literally holding these children hostage from the parents who are legally theirs. Jecoah is legally a Costain! The government just needs to sign his exit letter. So, that being said, I’m asking if you will pray about donating to this adoption. Any amount helps. And in return you will be emailed the JPEG file for this beautiful print of Psalm 37. A dear friend designed it for this fundraiser. How neat to be able to be a part of something bigger than ourselves! We can be part of the plan that God has for Jecoah to come home in his parents’ arms!

Shellie leaves soon to stay with Jecoah in DRC until they sign his letter. And who wouldn’t? If one of my children were being kept from me by a foreign government, I’d be by their side too! Oh I can’t wait for the day when I finally get my arms around that boy, and my lips on those cheeks of his! I know it will be one of the happiest days of my life! Please join me in prayer and support for all 6 of the Costains as they embark on yet another part of the journey in bringing sweet Jecoah home!

Donate Button with Credit Cards

POSTERSAMPLE

Leave a Reply

