Nothing But Love Between Us

As my beautiful Kara fades and eternity nears, I’ve looked to her own words in her writing and found a great deal of comfort. Her beautiful memoir, The Hardest Peace, has been such a gift to my heart from the moment I first devoured it and again on this very day. I have no doubt that I will read it again and again after Kara flies home and, in it, I will hear her voice, her wisdom, the truths she’s spoken into my life when I’m tempted to believe the lies.

The veil between here and heaven is very thin. But it’s a dreadfully painful one. We struggle to see beyond these days and look upon eternity with gladness. God gives us morsels of eternity over here, crumbs really, and we beg for them to remain when there is a fest awaiting us. We beg for scraps when the very best is promised. I look at the beautiful creations of my loved ones and say, “Jesus, You did so well – so wondrously well – can’t I stay a minute longer?”

I beg for that, really. But His peace answers my heart that it’s exactly decided and it’s beautiful. It’s nothing to be feared. That it is amazing, the story that remains on this side of the veil and the one that awaits on the other. But I need reminding – constant reminding. This, for me, is the hardest peace. I need truth tellers all around me to speak the goodness of grace that will meet me on both sides of the tender veil.

Revelation 7:16-17 They shall hunger no more, neither thirst anymore; the sun shall not strike them, nor any scorching heat. For the Lamb in the midst of the throne will be their shepherd, and he will guide them to springs of living water, and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.

I love my friend fiercely and my heart is as broken as it’s ever been. Still, there is peace. Inexplicable, supernatural, beautiful peace – the peace that surpasses understanding. Kara reminds me often that grace will show up, even in the moments that feel unbearable, especially in those moments. “For from Christ’s fullness we have all received grace upon grace.” John 1:16

Yes, we have.

I love you, Kara Tippetts. Much of the best of my life has been spent with you and I’m so very thankful.

Kara and Shellie

kara t

2 thoughts on “Nothing But Love Between Us

  1. What an agonizingly beautiful commentary, Shellie. I have a friend in LAS who has Stage 4 cancer; would you mind if I sent this to him, plus a few other Christian friends?

Leave a Reply

