Save Me A Seat

My treasured Kara met Jesus yesterday. A few weeks ago, several of her nearest and dearest sat with her around the fire and asked her about heaven. She said, “I can’t wait to see Jesus’ face when he sees me.” I was awestruck at her wondering. Our Savior loves us so deeply, delights in us, rejoices when He brings us home. How beautiful.

Last night, a small group of Kara’s girlfriends gathered together to cry, to laugh, to reminisce, to laugh and cry some more. I left with swollen eyes and a still-broken heart, but one that is full and grateful. Kara left behind a group of friends, a community that holds one another up at every turn and I feel so fortunate to be a part of it.

bffs

Our beautiful and thoughtful and selfless girl was very intentional in setting us up introducing us, encouraging us to move toward one another with open and vulnerable hearts, knowing how much we would need each other in this season.

friends5 Kara&Friends_0008

These women are some of the most loving, selfless and open people I’ll ever know. I love them as if they were my sisters and, well – they are. Some of them I’ve only just started to get to know and some I feel like I’ve known forever.

Kara befriended me and ever so gently forced her community into my life and me into her community. Of all the beautiful gifts I’ve received in my life, these friends, this community is among my most treasured.

friends2

friends4karakara

friends1

foot rub2

All of this because this girl insisted on being my friend, loving me when I’m unloveable, speaking truth into my life, teaching me that love is always kind, that grace is always the answer, that Jesus will always, always meet me exactly where I am.

shellandkara

My beautiful friend. I love you so much. I miss you like crazy. I cannot wait to dance with you in heaven, to sit at your table and eat all that heavenly food we wondered on all these months. Save me a seat, sweet mama.

3 thoughts on “Save Me A Seat

  1. Shellie, when I read of Kara’s death yesterday, I cried. And I thought of you and Corrie and Kara’s other close friends–I’m so, so sorry for your loss.

  2. Shellie, I, too, cried when I read the news. I am praying for you and your dear friends. Your community is beautiful and I thank God on your behalf for all of them and the love that you guys shower on each other.

Leave a Reply

